SRAM memory interface to microcontroller

   embedded system course

Fig2: A six-transistor CMOS SRAM cell

Other types of SRAM Cells:

The SRAM cells are categorized based on the type of load used in the elementary inverter of the flip-flop cell. There are commonly three types of SRAM memory cells:

1. 4T cell (four NMOS transistors plus two poly load resistors)
2. 6T cell (six transistors-four NMOS transistors plus two PMOS transistors)
3. TFT cell (four NMOS transistors plus two loads called TFTs)

4T (Four Transistor) Cell:

This design consists of four NMOS transistors plus two poly-load resistors. Two NMOS transistors are pass-transistors. These transistors have their gates tied to the word line and connect the cell to the columns. The two other NMOS transistors are the pull-downs of the flip-flop inverters. The loads of the inverters consist of a very high poly-silicon resistor. The cell needs room only for the four NMOS transistors. The poly loads are stacked above these transistors. Although the 4T SRAM cell may be smaller than the 6T cell, it is still about four times as large as the cell of a DRAM cell.
embedded system course

Related posts:

About author

This article was written by admin

Admin has over twenty years experience in the electronics industry, largely dedicated to embedded software. A frequent presenter at conferences and seminars and author of numerous technical articles. Working presently as Development Manager in India. A firm Believer in Knowledge grows when it shared.


Comments (3)
  1. sam says - Posted: August 27, 2012

    Very informative writeup.

  2. Taruhan Bola says - Posted: October 24, 2012

    Thanks for another informative blog. Where else could I get that kind of information written in such an ideal way? I have a project that I’m just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.

  3. Aaron Leonhart says - Posted: October 24, 2012

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..extra wait .. …

Leave your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *